Criteria: This award recognizes an outstanding book in the areas of Christian Origins, Post-Biblical Judaism and/or Graeco-Roman Religions written in English or French by a member of the CSBS and published during the previous two years (currently those with a copyright date of 2013 or 2014). Collections of essays, whether by a single author or by multiple authors, are not eligible for the award.

Selection Process: The three-person Adjudication Committee is appointed from among members of CSBS with a publishing record in at least one of the areas covered by the award.

Nominations: Nominators need to be members of the Canadian Society of Biblical Studies; self-nominations are acceptable. Nominations must reach the Society’s Communications Officer by DECEMBER 31st in order to be considered for the following year’s prize. Please direct queries, and send nominations, to:

Paul Evans
McMaster Divinity College
Divinity Room 236
1280 Main St. West
Hamilton, ON, L8S 4K1

The award of $500 is announced each year at the Annual General Meeting of the CSBS (usually late May - early June).

This award has been established in honour of Francis (Frank) Wright Beare, one of Canada’s most reknowned New Testament scholars. He was born in Toronto in 1902, studied in Toronto, Paris and Cairo, and taught at the Presbyterian College in Montreal (1933-46) and Trinity College in Toronto (1946-68). He participated actively in the Canadian Society of Biblical Studies and was named President of the Society in 1942; he was also President of the Society of Biblical Literature in 1969. For a bibliography and personal appreciations, see the Festschrift prepared in his honour: From Jesus to Paul, edited by Peter Richardson and John C. Hurd (Waterloo: Wilfrid Laurier University Press, 1984).

Previous Winners:

version française

Main Page

Updated: May 26, 2014